Healthy Body, Healthy Mind: Part 3

So, when I last left you, I didn’t know if I would be in the intervention group (immediate start) or the control group (wait 3 months). Last Wednesday, I met with the study coordinator and opened the “Secret Envelope of Secrets”  which announced that I was to be in group A – the intervention group. Huzzah!

Today I met with my PT for the next three months. I have to admit, I was more than a little nervous. I think I’d built up in my head this image of PTs via The Biggest Loser / the incredibly sporty bitches in high school (not saying that all sporty people are bitches or that all bitches are sporty…but you know the ones?)  Anyway… Alex is lovely. Just like everyone I’ve met so far that is involved in this study. We had this ‘motivational interview’ that looked at my attitudes to exercise and what I knew of how it helps mood – Alex though my Legally Blonde reference was fantastic. We talked about my history of exercise and what I wanted to achieve in the next 12 weeks. We thought up ways I could stay motivated and what might be an issue for me in regards to turning up. We took 90 minutes to do something that apparently could be done in 30! Yes, I quite like Alex 🙂

All this resulted in the ‘exercise contract’ as detailed below. The thing I liked the most is the everything you see here was suggested by me. I came up with it all! The goals, the motivations, even what Alex’s responsibilities to me are.20141027_164035

It’ll be about a week or two before I actually start exercising. Alex has to meet with all the other people in my group, and then we have to all meet each other too. I’m looking forward to finally starting though. I think this experience is going to be so much more than I’d hoped for!

One thought on “Healthy Body, Healthy Mind: Part 3

  1. Pingback: Healthy Body, Healthy Mind: Part 8 | Confessions of a Twenty-Something Chocoholic

Leave a Reply

