Thankful Thursday #3: University

So if you’ve read this blog before, or you know me, you’ll be aware that I go to uni. In fact, I am studying Education at Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia. You’ll also be aware that I spend a lot of time deep in angst over disorganisation, too many assignments, readings coming out of my ears and other students that I can’t stand. The thing is, I’m actually really lucky to be able to study, and let me tell you some reasons why.

Here’s the thing: most children in the world won’t even finish primary school, let alone go onto high school or university. In the majority of the world, you’re even less likely to receive an education if you are a girl. It is a mere matter of physical location that allows me to get a formal education at all.Β Of course, my class matters too – my family are definitely middle class. The government, for how much I criticise it, subsides my fees through HECS and helps fellow students through youth allowance, AuStudy and AbStudy. By choice, or God’s design, I have bee placed in a country that has very open access to higher education. So I’m lucky in that sense – that I’m able to study at all.

I’m also lucky that I have a choice in what I study, and access to passionate and professional teachers. I mean, sure, they might be afraid of technology and somewhat disorganised, but each lecturer and tutor is learned in the subject that they teach. If the government wasn’t subsidising my education, I might of had to continue in nursing – a field I wasn’t very well suited to. Now, I have to chance to study education, to hopefully improve the prospects of children less fortunate than I was.

So yes, I am thankful for the chance to go to university. I am thankful for the people I meet, and the academics who impart knowledge. I am thankful that I could go to pre-school and primary school and high school. I am so, so thankful, most of all, that I get to LEARN.

How lucky are we to live in the OECD

Leave a Reply

