Perception Shift

Year 10

Isn’t it crazy, how in the above picture, I thought I was fat? I don’t remember it being taken exactly – I do know that it was the ImpaKCt camp before year 10, and we had “Vinnies Day At The Races” as one of our dress up themes. I remember feeling ugly, and gross, and like no one would ever want to be friends me or look at me and definitely not touch me (this was before even this happened).

I look at this photo now, and see three beautiful young women. I look happy. I look confident. I look beautiful. And I wish I could go back and tell the younger me to remember that she is all these things and more. I wonder how differently my life would have turned out if I’d realised that I wasn’t as much ‘on the fringe’ as I thought I was. I wonder what might have been, if I’d only realised how much I had to offer.

I wonder if I’ll look back at photos of myself 5 or 10 years from now and notice the same perception shift. I kind of hope I do, because I’d love to realise that I was ‘successful’ even when I thought I wasn’t.

🙂

Leave a Reply

